Creamy White Sauce Penne Pasta

Creamy White Sauce Penne Pasta

I moved to Mumbai almost 3 years back and like any other Indian, coming to Mumbai was a big fascination for me. I always thought ‘Bombay’ would be full of glamour and bollywood people roaming around. Every morning I used to flip directly to Bombay Times and read about page 3 gossips and high profile parties in the town. It was a time for me when I can actually go to the places where these celebrities go. I read somewhere long back that there is this Italian restaurant in Juhu called “Del Italia” and it was Madhuri’s (ya ya our very own dhak-dhak girl) favourite eat out place in Mumbai. So one day while crossing the juhu beach I saw the same place!! My excitement level was sky high to dine at a place which is Madhuri’s favourite.

Ya I know how lame it sounds, but c’mon back then I were a new girl in the ‘tinsel town’. Any ways we entered the restaurant hoping to have some great time. Ambience was just perfect, open air roof top restaurant, sea facing table and candle light. I mean why wouldn’t this be anyone’s favourite!!!
Coming down to food this was my first ever italian meal (I don’t count pizza outlet’s pizzas as Italian whatsoever). I was in a fix on what to order as I had absolutely no idea what is what. So the waiter suggested us to try veg Alfredo pasta with a portion of garlic bread on the side. So we ordered the same. When our food was served it looked so pretty but believe me or not I hated the pasta on first go. It was too bland for my taste buds at that time. I thought too bad, Madhuri and my choices don’t match! But I didn’t give up on trying liking white sauce pasta. And finally the fateful day arrived when we went for midnight buffet at the Sahara Star. The freshly prepared warm white sauce penne was served. I don’t know but there was something magical about it. The moment I had my first bite I told myself, yes this is it I am totally in love with this. Perfectly cooked penne, topped with creamy n cheesy white sauce, crunchy colourful bell peppers and right amount of herbs. Sheer divine!!! Ever since then, I am a big big fan of Italian cuisine. Thanks to the ‘Little Italy’ outlets which serves delectable veg Italian food.

Over the time I have tried different versions of white sauce, few negotiable on calorie counter and few will definitely top the list of insane guilty pleasures. White sauce Pasta is a quick fix meal for one and at the same time very filling.  Here I am sharing one of my favourite versions of rich and creamy white sauce aka Alfredo pasta.

Creamy White Sauce Penne Pasta   

For Pasta 

What all we will need ->

2 cup penne pasta

1 tbsp salt

Sufficient water

How do we make it ->

  1. Bring a large pot of water to boil
  2. Add salt and pasta the boiling water
  3. Do not follow the instructions on the box, else boil the pasta till it is tender but firm (Italians use this phrase – Al dente which means cooked till u can have a bite)

Drain the water and keep pasta aside

For White sauce 

What all we will need ->

2 tbsp all purpose flour (maida)

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

4-5 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed

3 cups milk (or 1 cup heavy cream)

½ cup grated cheese (any variety like parmesan, mozzarella or processed cheese will just work fine)

1 tsp dry Italian dry herb mix

Pinch of freshly grounded black pepper

Red chilli flakes to taste

Fresh basil or parsley sprigs

Salt to taste

How do we make it ->

  1. Heat butter and oil in a pan and add crushed garlic
  2. Cook it for hardly 15 seconds and add all purpose flour
  3. Quickly whisk it with butter and oil mixture.
  4. Make sure to sauté on medium flame and it should not change its colour
  5. Add Italian dry herb mix, chilli flakes and black pepper and cook for 30 seconds
  6. Add the milk, while continuously stirring it to avoid any lumps
  7. Cook it for another 2-3 minutes till it comes down to a boil
  8. Add grated cheese to the sauce and cook for 1 minute. Adding cheese will thicken the sauce further, so add more milk to adjust the consistency
  9. Add salt to taste
  10. Pour the sauce over cooked pasta and toss well

My serving options->

Garnish white sauce pasta with fresh basil leaves and sprinkle of red chilli flakes and/or black pepper powder. White sauce pasta goes best with freshly toasted garlic bread on the side.

Creamy White Sauce Penne Pasta serving options

Notes by experience->

  1. Avoid adding oil while cooking the pasta, as oil would make it difficult for pasta to marry the sauce
  2. If you wish to add any veggies like red/yellow/green bell peppers, sweet corns, etc., then add it just before step 7. Of course for corn you need to boil it first but capsicums will cook eventually as the sauce boils.
  3. You can use pasta of your choice but preferably penne, farfalle, fusilli, etc.

Warm, cheesy and creamy white sauce penne pasta is ready to savour!

Bon Apetit!

Posted on March 22, 2012, in Italian cuisine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I tried this white suace. Its simply delicious!!!!

  2. Thank U Sara :) Did u add any veggies too???

  3. This seems to be delicious…I will definitely try it. What will be the measurement for the sauce for 7 people..?

  4. Tried and tested (and tasted as well !). really nice! thank you for this one.

  5. Thanks for sharing! Tried it and it was lovely :))

  6. Tried this today and it turned out great! Thanks!

  1. Pingback: Char's Kitchen: A Vegan Friendly Food Blog » Whole Wheat Tortellini with Creamy White Sauce

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,111 other followers

